> INTERVIEW WITH BRECHT DE BOIS

Brecht_origineel_formaat

About 33 years ago I was born in Sint-Andries – Bruges, where I still live. I grew up in a big family with 2 brothers and 1 sister. Meanwhile, the family has expanded with 5 nephews and nieces. I am a cheerful, sporty and driven person who approaches everything thoughtfully and with some composure.

I work at the SME production department where my knowledge of the construction sector, bicycle insurance and vehicle registration are very useful. In our service we are usually the 1st contact person for the customer. We listen to their needs and then help to solve them. This can be minor matters such as providing proof of insurance as well as checking and optimizing the entire file.

The best part is helping the customer and that there is a lot of variety in the job. In our service you will come across all different types of companies: from catering companies over construction companies, cleaning companies to football teams. Being able to help the customer constructively is the best part of my job.

I have been working at D'hondt Insurance for almost 8 years now. That's already starting to count. Thanks to the good team and nice colleagues, I still come to work every day with a smile.

I don't remember exactly what my first assignment was. I had only been out of school for a few months and did not know our software system Brio yet. I mainly got to know Brio first and this on the basis of small changes in contracts. That's how I started deleting and drafting policies. For the first 2 months, I first worked in the morning in the production department and in the afternoon in the claims department. This did help to get to know both sides and to know that production suits me more.

Something I will never forget is a registration of a three-wheeled Piaggio built sometime in the 1970s. This was a Piaggio for our customer Eccociqua, better known as Pizzeria Amuni, for advertising purposes. It was a very difficult delivery to register because of problems after the introduction. Our customer had bought this from an importer, but it had been entered incorrectly: VAT was not declared and there was also no certificate of conformity. I've had to do a lot of research and negotiate with DIV. The customer had to register in the old-timer federation, among other things, to receive a certificate of conformity. Finally, after almost a year, the vehicle was registered and the customer was so happy that he spontaneously promised us a free pizza.

What I'm doing right now is what I most enjoy doing right now. I want to help my customers and work with my nice colleagues. You shouldn't change what you like to do.

Besides work, I am very involved in sports. I play soccer, mini football, volleyball and tennis. Sport is my thing, especially when a ball is involved. In addition to sports, I love to spend time with my family and the children of my brothers and sister. I also love to travel. In the winter I go on a ski trip every year and in the summer I like to go to the sun. In between I like to do cycling weekends in the Netherlands and city trips.

I replaced Evelyne Vandepoel at the time and got a bit of her smaller customers. These were small SMEs, private individuals and also the customers of our office in Geraardsbergen at the time. i.a. Johan Van Puyvelde, Frederik Ruysschaert and Freddy Van Der Haegen are clients I had in the beginning and whom I still manage.

Do you also want to be part of our team?

Look at all our open vacancies and maybe you will be a part of Team D'hondt soon.

EN